Designer of the Forest

I am admittedly a bit of a nature show nerd. Planet Earth and Blue Planet on DVD, Life, National Geographic, PBS, BBC online and on Netflix. I just can’t get enough. Although it is a passion of mine, it’s not normally the type of thing that I blog about. However, the Bowerbird is so incredible (and relevant to Art and Architecture) that I must share.

Bowerbirds are most known for their unique courtship behaviour, where males build a structure and decorate it with sticks and brightly coloured objects in an attempt to attract a mate. The males are Architects and Interior Designers, while the females are the critics.

The bowerbirds have  ten species endemic to New Guinea, eight endemic to Australia and two found in both (Wikipedia). One of my favorites is the Vogelkop Bowerbird, indigenous to the mountains of the Vogelkop Peninsula at Western New Guinea, Indonesia.

VIDEO-BBC

