juxtaposition

Washington, D.C.

Not only is juxtaposition a good word, but it usually leads to something interesting as well. Definition:

[juhk-stuh-puh-zish-uhn] -noun
1. an act or instance of placing close together or side by side,especially for comparison or contrast.

 

It’s odd, I even remember who taught me this word; My high school  art teacher Mrs. Hummel. I don’t remember the exact context, but I actually remember her saying it to me while describing a piece that I did. A random memory, but the point is, that it stuck with me. Who cares, and why am I bringing it up? Well, I see interesting juxtaposition a lot. Take the image shown above. I took this in passing while walking around in Washington, DC. I love the juxtaposition of traditional architecture and modern. I will try to add some other examples as they come up, but for now… word of the day!

