QuaDror

This is a blog about inspiration and good design. So naturally, I often post things that fall under one or both of those categories. This post falls under both. I have previously written about the great work of Dror Benshetrit, but this time I feel it is truly incredible. I think that almost all of his work is good or interesting in some way, but I think that I am mildly obsessed with this new work, the QuaDror. I feel that this is really innovative and something that can create real change in the world in more ways than one. It is hard to describe, but basically it is a new structural support system that can be implemented into many forms. What is really innovative is that it packs flat, and then un folds to create a nearly instant super strong structure (see stats below). I’ll stop telling you what I think and just show you. After all, a picture is worth a thousand words. Be sure to watch the videos too, they really help explain how it works. I hope that you agree– this is seriously awesome design!

VIDEO 01

VIDEO 02

Update: Last week my friends at Designer Pages threw the US launch party for QuaDror! I was so sad to miss it (still in TX on business). I’m sure it was a great event, as always.

Truss

concrete--as highway divider

Guggenheim wall installation (note: I love this watercolor sketch)

It would be as large as a bridge...

...or as small as a table

