Social Business Summit | Austin, TX

Today, the Social Business Summit was held in Austin Texas, (put on by DachisGroup and sponsored by IBM). I realize that this is not necessarily in my field of work, or even that relevant to what I normally blog, however, it is something that is relevant to us all**. Technology and Social networking are taking business in a whole new direction. I have a hard time explaining exactly what Social Business Design Companies, like DachisGroup, do. But if you want to know more; Check out their website(s) and/ or accept this explanation from me: Large companies hire Social Business Design companies to bring them up to speed with all of the modern technologies. Social Business Companies are helping these companies communicate, collaborate and improve value exchange among constituents. Think about Facebook, you can find almost any company on there now, no? From Pepsi and Target to small local boutiques and your friend that sells stuff on Etsy. Even subway ads and magazine spreads say “check us out on Facebook”, etc. Mostly aimed at the younger, more technologically advanced demographic/ end user, this work also puts companies in front of a larger client base than ever before.

Photo by Lars Plougmann (of the Dachis Group)

Photo by Lars Plougmann (of the Dachis Group)

The event was held at the W Austin. Another great photo by Lars Plougmann (of the Dachis Group)

More on the Summit:

Word of the day: “Liminal” is the threshold, the space between what we know and don’t know. (ie: subliminal, preliminary, etc). Use it in a sentence… “It’s interesting—the way in which one has to balance life—because you have to know when to let go and when to pull back…. There’s always some liminal (as opposed to subliminal) space in between which is harder to inhabit because it never feels as safe as moving from one extreme to another.” –Dictionary.com

Best Graphics Award for the day goes to: Dave Gray of XPLANE. He is the author of Gamestorming: A Playbook for Innovators, RuleBreakers, and Changemakers. Here are a few examples from his talk (I’m sorry that these are terrible cell phone photos of slides, that I then had to edit. Really bad but you get the point about the graphics). The drawings are cute but professional at the same time, and have a really simple way of keeping your attention throughout the presentation:

**So, what does this all mean to me, or you? Inspired by the day-I am beginning an experiment. I have (with more than a slight hesitation) created a Twitter account. I have LinkedIn and Facebook, but apparently Twitter is the way to go for business. So, for the next 6 months, I will actively “Tweet, reTweet, #hashtag and @people”. After 6 months I will assess the outcome and report my findings.

Pondering Social Business Design..? Thanks to Lars Plougmann for the photo, it was a beautiful day out!

Goals of the experiment:

1. I don’t really know. If I had expectations for Twitter, I probably would have done it before.

2. Find out if Twitter can really affect my business, in a positive way (ie: new clients, connections, networking, etc).

3. Make a more concerted effort to shamelessly promote my own business.

4. While designing the DachisGroup headquarters in Austin, I have been increasingly more interested in learning more about what my client actually does. I feel that you cannot fully realize an effective workspace without knowing more about the type of work that goes on. After the basic questions: How many employees? Do they need two or more conference spaces? How much desk space and privacy does each person really need?.. etc… Then come the more important questions: How do they work? What do they do? No really, what do they do, and how do they do it? More specificity= better and more effective design.

…and since I’m really going to do this, I had to make it pretty too:

...so I hear.

