bicycle

When I was little I had a white and pink bike, that I called my “ABC bike”. I don’t remember why I called it that, but it was a.m.a.z.i.n.g. It looked something like this. It was everything I had ever dreamed of. At the age of five I won a “bike rally” and was given the choice between a men’s mountain bike or a big wheel. I had just recently out grown my ABC bike and, needless to say, I wanted the big wheel. However, my parents thought ahead… always thinking of my future. Of course, it makes more sense to get the mountain bike… I’d “grow into it”….but, I was five, and I fought hard in this loosing battle. Years passed, always resenting that red mountain bike. When I moved to New York, my Mom let me take her 10-speed from 1980. It wasn’t the worst, but it was bigger than I am and weighed almost as much. Additionally, it was old and not great for city riding.

Finally, 20 years after the big wheel incident, I have purchased a bike of my own choosing. In fact, my own design. Every single piece was chosen by me and assembled by Mike at Bicycle Station. It is everything I have ever dreamed of…

