’tis the season… for boots!

After countless wonderful seasons and cobbler repairs, my favorite leather boots, are finally retired. It was a sad day when I realized that they were completely unwearable. Their remade soles and heels were worn down to crooked little non-supportive stumps, and they had far exceeded their $50 vintage store worth… followed by $65 repairs. They ended up being as much as a new pair, but these ones were worth it. Why ladies? What it is about that one pair of shoes, jeans or a purse that we just can’t get enough of? I. don’t. know… but I can tell you this: I loved those boots, hard, and it has taken months to find (and settle on) their acceptable replacement.

The originals: Designer unknown, vintage Italian leather, purchased from 10ft Stella Dallas in Williamsburg

The replacements: Dolce Vita “Georgia” in brown, purchased from Zappos

While searching for the replacements, I also found these lovely black boots on endless.com by Pour La Victoire. With two new favorites, replacement in a few years will be tough!

