What if money was no object?…

I am very fortunate to have pursued, and (so far) succeeded in, my career of choice. However, I am a realistic person, and I always made sure to have a back up plan in the event that things did not go as planned. In the early days of my Interior Design business, I also worked as a gymnastics coach for young children, to pay the rent. It was a fun job, but practically speaking it was just a filler to make sure that I could pay rent while doing what I really wanted to do in Interior Design at the same time. I chose gymnastics as my part-time job because I liked it. I could have done any number of other part-time jobs, but I chose that one because it was more fun. I knew that staying in NYC was the best way to achieve my goals in design and I would not let a little thing like lack of money get in my way. (Contrary to what a *ahem* certain politician has said, we cannot all ‘get money from Mom and Dad’).

Yesterday, at the Doctor’s office, the nurse that weighed me and brought me into the exam room was extremely unpleasant. She asked me the standard questions, ignored my answers, and seemed generally unhappy with life. Later, I realized that she was like that every time I was in the office, and she was that way to all of the patients. It frustrated me that she was so rude, but more, it saddened me that she was so unhappy at her job. It made me wonder why she was doing it at all.

My determination to always do what I want to do has carried me through college, starting a business, and continuing to work for myself. I realize that this is not possible for everyone, but imagine a world where you never encounter another angry cashier, grumpy driver, rude nurse, or frustrated anything. It’s absurdly idealistic, I know… but it’s a nice thought. If you’re not happy with your job, please try to find a way to change it or enjoy it. You’re life will be infinitely better.

This video has been circulating the internet lately, and it really resonated with me (and everyone else). Enjoy:

Also, A great post on happiness from The Minimalists!

Relevant quotes:

“Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.” -Jim Rohn

“Money won’t make you happy… but everybody wants to find out for themselves.” -Zig Ziglar

“Money has never made man happy, nor will it, there is nothing in its nature to produce happiness. The more of it one has the more one wants.”-Benjamin Franklin

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.”

“Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design into the present.”

“It’s nice to have money and the things that money can buy, but it’s also important to make sure you haven’t lost track of the things that money can’t buy.”

“You don’t need a lot of money to lead a rich life.  Good friends and a loving family are worth their weight in gold.”

“If you want your life to change, your choices and actions must change.  Every day brings a chance to start over.”

