Austin Architect

I love this “Affordable Duplex” featured in Dwell’s February, 2013 issue:

“For a cost-conscious 2,000-square-foot renovation located 30 minutes outside of Austin, Texas, architect Nick Deaver took a look around for inspiration. He spied galvanized metal cladding on the region’s sheds and co-opted the inexpensive, resilient material for his own design.  He then applied locally quarried Lueders limestone near the entrance— a warm contrast to the steely facade.” Dwell 

“I tend to take advantage of the look and feel of an area instead of accenting how we stand apart from it,” says Deaver.

I worked with the Architect, Nick Deaver, in 2011 to ensure that I upheld his design vision on the Threestones house (originally designed in the early 2000’s). When I began the renovation project, the Threestones house was unfinished by the previous owners. My clients and I wanted to finish the house to its true and full potential. I met with Nick to talk about his original design concept, material choices, and in some cases, specific sources. In the end, I felt confident that I had successfully carried the torch that was passed to me, to complete this beautiful home.

(More Threestones photos here)

deaver1

(Dwell duplex feature, pictured above)

THREESTONES

deaver2

20111021-IMG_8595

20111021-IMG_8749-Edit

20111021-IMG_8794

20111021-IMG_8806-Edit

dachis09

DEAVER3

20111021-IMG_8726-Edit

