Project | shell collection

If your anything like me, a good portion of your beach vacation is spent wandering the shoreline looking for beautiful shells/ objects. Then, as the years go by you end up with zip lock bags full of them, stored somewhere in your home. A ridiculous collection of useless items…

In a recent effort to get rid of all unnecessary items in my home, I came across the shells. I didn’t have any real plans for the majority of them, so I tried to think of something non-tacky that I could do with them. I had multiple types and varied sizes, as well as a few small collections of the same species. I immediately started to organize them into groups without even realizing that my OCD had kicked in. It was very much like ThingsOrganizedNeatly.Tumblr.

I went to my local art store and bought a bunch of shadow box frames and got to work. (I bought a few extra matching frames, since they were on sale, and now in the future I have a home for new shells as well). I lost track of time, but it was probably about 3 hours later, that I finally settled on the layout and began gluing. I used a medium temp hot glue gun to attach the shells to the stretched linen background of the shadow box.

shells3

Et voila! About an hour later, it was finished. Two vacations (Bermuda & San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua) and a few years later, I had finally turned my collection into something interesting.

shells2shells1Additionally, I had collected a horseshoe exoskeleton and a bird skull, and finally got those into frames as well! I love the all glass shadow boxes for this type of stuff. It reminds me of all the cool stuff at Evolution NYC.

skulls1skull2

