Natural inspiration

Just a little humpday inspiration: A few shots from my recent trip to the Museum of Natural History, and what I took away from it all.

I refrained from photographing the entirety of my favorite sections, however, the Halls of Minerals/Gems are always where I spend the most time. Staring into opal, labradorite, and other gems; Wishing I could have every piece as jewelry or sculpture.

photo

image

image_1

After this visit, I have become increasingly obsessed with the dioramas. So much so that I actually want to find out how to be involved in such work. Far fetched I’m sure, but you never know. As a child in school I made those little ‘shoe box diorama’s at every opportunity… and let me just say, I was pretty good at it!

Check out these awesome videos on how the dioramas were created:

More videos here

